Green Beef Curry with Sweet Potato, Peaches and Broccoli

by sageandhoney

Whenever I make curries they become less traditional, and more of an expression of my pantry. I wanted to make a traditional curry, with eggplant, red pepper, fish sauce, the works. But I had limited time, and other ingredients I needed to use, to I came up with this. I didn’t have brown rice on hand either, so I served the curry with amaranth, a teeny little grain. Though untraditional, this curry was rich and sweet, but not overly sweet, and really a light and simple dish.

 Green Beef Curry with Sweet Potato, Peaches and Broccoli

1 onion
1 tbsp butter
1 can coconut milk
½ cup water or chicken broth
1 sweet potato, chopped
1 cup peaches, chopped
2 heads of broccoli, stems removed
Grass fed beef (I used kabob meat I had on hand), bite size pieces
1 tbsp green curry paste
Salt & pepper
Lemon juice
2 tbsp coconut palm sugar
Cilantro
1 cup amaranth, cooked

Place the butter in a Dutch oven and sauté the onion over high heat. Add the can of coconut milk and water or chicken broth. Add the sweet potato and cook for about 10 minutes. Meanwhile, sear the beef. Add the curry paste and season with salt & pepper, lemon juice and the coconut palm sugar.

After several minutes, add the beef cuts. Cook for a few minutes, check to make sure the sweet potatoes are soft, and then add the broccoli. Simmer for a few minutes until the broccoli is tender.

Serve with the cooked amaranth, or whatever grain you have on hand and decide to use. Garnish with cilantro, or basil.

