Blackened Lentils with Broccoli, Kale, Goat Cheese and Limequats

by sageandhoney

 

I am really inspired by lentils right now. I’ve made several soups, many different tacos, have ideas for black bean and lentil “meat” balls, and this simple recipe was delicious. I think I go through lentil phases every year, suddenly I rediscover these little legumes and start adding them to everything. I ate kumquats and limequats with roasted broccoli and kale the other night and they pair perfectly and look beautiful. As a dinner this meal was fulfilling, I broiled an egg on top, and saved the leftovers for lunch the next day when I went skiing. This might be the best lunch I’ve brought to the mountain in a long time. I only had a little bit left over but it was perfectly satisfying. I leaned up against my car in the sunshine and ate my little feast in the mountains.

 

Blackened Lentils with Broccoli, Kale, Goat Cheese and Limequats

Olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, chopped
¾ cup cooked green lentils
Head of broccoli
Big handful of kale, stems removed
1 meyer lemon
Goat cheese
Eggs
2 limequats or kumquats
Sea salt & pepper
Cayenne pepper

Turn the oven onto broil. Add oil to a cast iron, sauté the onions for a few minutes on high heat. Add the garlic and the lentils. I cooked everything on high heat so the lentils were a bit crispy. Add the broccoli and kale, squeeze meyer lemon juice all over, season with salt and pepper, and cover the pan so the vegetables steam. Once the kale loses most of its volume, mix everything together and add a little more seasoning and lemon juice. Add some chunks of goat cheese to the skillet and crack a few eggs in there, seasoned with cayenne,  if you want. Broil until the eggs are cooked and the kale and broccoli is slightly crisped, just a few minutes. Meanwhile chop some kumquats and limequats. Remove the skillet from the oven and sprinkle the chopped quats on top and season again if needed. Enjoy with some plain Greek yogurt and another squeeze of lemon juice.

 

