Anchovy, Gruyere & Comte Flatbread

by sageandhoney

I made these crackers from 101cookbooks. When I was ready to bake them, I turned on my oven to 450. The oven started smoking furiously, filling my house with smoke and a horrible electrical smell. So I’m without oven right now, except the broil function, which is what I ended up using to cook these “crackers.” They turned into little pizzas instead. I just rolled them out, sprinkled them with sea salt & pepper and broiled them. When I flipped them, I added gruyere & comté and some anchovies and another grind of sea salt & pepper. They were crispy and simple and light and rich and delicious. Not necessarily pizza, not necessarily crackers, more like a flat bread somewhere in between.  I’ve burned so many things using the broiler, I’m extra careful, and these you really have to watch or they will burn to a crisp. Sprinkle with grated parmesan cheese and enjoy!

