Lentil and Split Pea Tacos with Gruyere, Comté and Sauteed Kale

by sageandhoney

I lose track of what is in my cupboards several times every year. So I didn’t buy groceries for a little while and decided to see what I had and wasn’t using. Millet, quinoa, amaranth, sprouting seeds, bee pollen, various types of beans, soup mixes, lentils and wheat berries and the list goes on. I have a wide variety of interesting and obscure ingredients to play with but I’ve been hooked on the first one I made from the pantry. I like having survival food on hand for when I have limited time or money. Some of the best survival food is Bob’s Red Mill soup mix with green and yellow split peas, barley, lentils and vegetable pasta. I ate it as a soup the first night cooked just in chicken broth and then I started incorporating it into other dishes. The lentil-split pea taco with gruyere and comté topped with sautéed kale and lemon juice is my favorite use for the soup mix so far.

Lentil and Split Pea Tacos with Gruyere, Comté and Sauteed Kale

1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Vegi Soup
2 cups water
2 cups vegetable broth
2 sprouted corn tortillas
Sliced Gruyere and Comté
Handful of kale
Lemon juice
Sea salt & pepper
Olive oil

Simmer 1 part soup with the 4 parts of water/vegetable broth for about an hour, until tender. Heat a cast iron pan on medium high heat, add a tablespoon or so of olive oil, and place the tortillas in the pan. Top them with a few spoonfuls of the lentils and several slices of cheese. Top with the other tortilla, cook for several minutes on each side (until cheese is melted, tacos are crispy). Remove the taco from the pan, and add the kale to the hot skillet. Squeeze the juice from half a lemon onto the kale, cover, and sauté until the kale is soft and a bit crispy (about 5 minutes). Top the taco with the kale and season with salt & pepper. This is a really simple meal, but don’t forget the lemon juice, it is essential. And definitely serve these with spicy chutney and Greek yogurt if you have it on hand.

