Savory Christmas Crepes

by sageandhoney

I had a savory crepe in town the other morning and it just left me feeling, well, like I wasn’t quite getting the savory crepe experience I really wanted. We traditionally eat crepes for Christmas breakfast, filled with whipped cream and fruit and maple syrup. But, there isn’t really a lot of fruit this time of year, and I was in the mood for something more substantial and salty, especially after my brother and I ran for 7 ½ or 8 miles Christmas morning.

My mom roasted all kinds of squash and pumpkins and had some amazing ingredients in the fridge, so I made us savory crepes and they were delicious. The combination of the pumpkin with the chevre and bacon was sweet, salty, and crispy, and the addition of my brother’s famous potatoes and onions added another layer of flavor and texture.

 Savory Christmas Crepes:

 4 cups white whole-wheat flour
1 tsp vanilla
Pinch of salt
5 eggs
3 cups of whole milk
¾ cup water
3 tbsp melted butter

Coconut oil

Fillings:

Chevre
Cooked pumpkin
Spinach
Bacon, cooked
Potatoes, cooked
Onions, cooked
Parmesan


In order, mix together each ingredient. The consistency should be very thin and runny. My brother received this amazing cast iron pizza stone that we ended up cooking the crepes on in the oven. Use one of these if you have it, otherwise a large cast iron works on the stovetop.

Generously butter or use coconut oil on the pan. Spread about ½ cup of batter on the pan, spread it around, and cook until little bubbles form. Carefully flip. Place a few spoonfuls of pumpkin, some crumbles of chevre, a handful of spinach, two strips of bacon, potatoes, onion and some grated parmesan on the crepe. Carefully roll it up, grate some parmesan on top, and bake in the oven, at 400, for 6-8 minutes, or until the parmesan looks melted.

We ate the crepes with Straus whole milk yogurt and some salsa, and my dad ended up eating his savory crepe with maple syrup, which was still really good.

