Butternut Squash Pizza

by sageandhoney

I take a lot less pictures when I’m cooking for friends and when it’s dark. But I’m so glad I was able to share these delicious pizzas. I really didn’t have any traditional pizza ingredients on hand. No mozzarella, no prosciutto or parmesan or tomatoes. But I had some wonderful ingredients and obscure cheeses and I had a feeling they would pair perfectly. I roasted the butternut squash in the oven for a little before using it as a topping and it was seriously hard not to eat them baked straight out of the oven. Baking the squash in slivers with olive oil, salt and pepper is easy and delicious.

Pizza Dough

Butternut Squash Pizza
1 Sliced butternut squash
1 minced red onion
Handful of dinosaur kale
1 clove garlic
Cheese variety: tallegio, gruyere, a hard sheep cheese I lost the label for
Balsamic vinegar
Sea salt & pepper

Bake the squash at 400 for around 3o minutes or until softened and slightly browned. Saute the minced onions, chopped kale and garlic for a few minutes in a skillet. Assemble the squash on the pizza, top with the sauteed mixture then add the cheese. Drizzle just a little balsamic on top, add a grind of sea salt and pepper. Bake at your ovens highest setting for 8 – 10 minutes. Note: I spread the ingredients out over three pizzas, so not all the toppings pile up on one.

Spinach and Fig Pizza
1 handful spinach
1/4 chopped red onion
6 sliced green and purple figs
Tallegio, gruyere, cheddar, and hard sheep cheese
Drizzle of balsamic
Sea salt & pepper

Spread the spinach out on the dough, top with red onion, figs and cheeses, drizzle with a little balsamic and a grind of salt & pepper. Bake for 8 – 10  minutes at 500 degrees or so.

