Macaroni and Cheese

by sageandhoney

 The new Edible Reno-Tahoe Cooks! edition had me thinking about macaroni and cheese before I went to sleep, so today around mid-afternoon I was really craving the comfort food. The recipe in the magazine looked delicious, with shrimp and pancetta, but I didn’t have those ingredients on hand so my mac n cheese was a little bit simpler.

Macaroni and Cheese
¼ lb quinoa macaroni
1 small onion minced
1 clove garlic minced
1 Tbsp whole wheat flour
½ cup heavy cream; if you have white wine add a ¼ cup of that too (I didn’t have any on hand)
2 cups cheese: you can use a variety of different cheeses, I used gruyere, cheddar and parmesan
Fresh cracked black pepper
sea salt
red pepper flakes
olive oil
½ cup bread crumbs
[Adapted from Cooks!] Oven 350. Cook the pasta according to the instructions. While the water’s boiling, sauté the onions on medium high heat in olive oil until translucent. Add the garlic, cook for about a minute, and then add the flour. Stir the flour in, add the wine and let it cook down if you have it, then add the cream. Let this simmer for about five minutes, remove from heat and stir in the cheese until it is just melted. Add a few grinds of black pepper, sea salt and red pepper flakes. For the breadcrumbs I just baked two slices of sprouted bread, then chopped them into breadcrumbs. Place the pasta in ovenproof dishes, and then add the cheese mixture on top. Place the bread crumbs and extra parmesan on top and bake until the top is browned, about 20 minutes.

