Three Pizzas

by sageandhoney

Pizza’s one of my favorite foods to eat and make and these particular pizzas are probably some of the best I’ve ever made. I get so bored with pizzas that follow the sauce, cheese, topping rule and pretty much never make pizzas like this at home. If I use any sauce I make sure it’s nice and chunky and I’ll put big spoonfuls around the pizza. This time I stuck to three really simple toppings on homemade whole-wheat pizza dough. The first is fig, prosciutto, and blue cheese, the second is pear, blue cheese, arugula and the final pizza is topped with anchovies, shallots and arugula. If you haven’t had anchovies on your pizza I hope I can convince you to at least try it, they are simply one of the best, most flavorful and delicious additions to any pizza.

If you can go get a pizza stone, they make a huge difference and mine only cost about $10 at a kitchen supply store. I make 100% whole-wheat dough because I like the texture, but you can add ¼ cup of rye or other flours depending on your desired texture.

 Pizza Dough (adapted from Alice Waters “The Art of Simple Food”)
1 package yeast
½ cup lukewarm water
3 ¾ cups whole-wheat flour
1 tsp sea salt
¾ cup cold water
¼ cup olive oil

Stir the yeast, warm water, and ½ cup of flour together and let sit until bubbly, about 20-30 minutes. Mix the remained 3 ¼ cups of flour with the salt, stir this into the yeast mixture and add the cold water and olive oil. Knead on a floured board for five minutes. I follow Waters expert advice here and let my dough rise overnight in the fridge covered with a towel. In my experience this makes superior pizza dough. But you can also let it rise for two hours on your countertop. If you do let it rise overnight, be sure to take it out two hours before you want to start working with it so it’s pliable.

Fig, Prosciutto and Blue Cheese
6 figs sliced
6 mini heirloom tomatoes
1 chopped shallot
Bufala mozzarella
Blue cheese (I use a raw point reyes blue)
Prosciutto
Sea Salt

Roll/spin a ball of dough out quite thin, assemble ingredients on top, and cook at 500, or as high as your oven will go for about 12 minutes or so. Sprinkle with a little sea salt when it gets out of the oven, and drizzle with some white truffle oil.

Pear, Blue Cheese and Arugula
1 pear, sliced
1 chopped shallot
Blue cheese
Bufala mozzarella
Prosciutto
Arugula

Assemble all ingredients except the arugula on some rolled out dough. Cook at 500 for 12 or so minutes. Place a handful or arugula on the pizza when it gets out of the oven.

Anchovies, Shallots and Arugula

6-8 anchovy fillets
2 chopped garlic cloves
1 chopped shallot
6 Halved cherry tomatoes
Bufala mozzarella
Arugula

Again, assemble all of the ingredients on the pizza except the arugula, add this right when the pizza gets out of the oven.

