Goat Curry with Garlic and Green Onion Naan

by sageandhoney

A few weeks ago I realized that I’ve never made curry. Curry is one of those dishes I love, but have no experience or confidence making. So, I’ve left it to the pros for all these years and missed out on working toward my own mastery of the curry craft. On my ride home from school I started thinking about the huge box of tomatoes I bought at the farmers market, and my peaches, onions, sweet potatoes, coconut milk, and goat stew meat defrosting in the fridge. As I rode the flavors started mixing in my head, and I arrived home ready to experience the aromatic delight I’d created in my mind. Instead of rice I made homemade naan. It was chewy and dense and speckled with seeds, garlic and scallions. It didn’t fall apart when I dipped it in the curry and held up well to a sliver of goat meat and a peach balanced on its crispy, chewy, slightly browned edge. I did use a pre-bought curry paste from the co-op this first time, but I plan on making my own from now on. Also, my curry was quite mild. When I have leftovers I don’t want them to be overpoweringly flavor full because I won’t eat them if they are too rich. This meal is incredibly satisfying, and more like a tomato soup with curry flavoring than a fully authentic Indian or Thai curry.

Naan with Garlic and Green Onion
1 package yeast
2 Tbsp warm water
1 Tsp coconut palm sugar
¼ c warm milk
¼ plain, whole milk, yogurt
4 Tbsp melted butter
3 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp salt
½ tsp baking powder
1 tsp poppy seeds
1 tsp sesame seeds
1 tsp hemp seeds
2 garlic cloves
2 green onions

Mix warm water, sugar and yeast. Set aside until the mixture foams and bubbles. Add the milk, yogurt, and butter to the yeast mixture. Mix flour, salt, baking powder and seeds in a large bowl. Using your hand, mix the yeast and flour mixture. Knead on a floured surface for about eight minutes, adding more water if it feels too dry. Place the ball of dough in a bowl and cover with a towel for around four hours until it rises and doubles in size. I let mine rise, and then placed it in the fridge overnight, and then, before I baked it, allowed it to come to room temperature.

Chop the garlic and onions, knead them into the rested and risen naan, and then form into balls. Brush them with olive oil and let rest for another 15 minutes. During this time, turn your oven to its highest temperature (500 or so). With a rolling pin, roll out the naan on a floured surface. Bake for 4-5 minutes, and then broil for another minute or so.

Goat Curry
Olive oil
3 garlic cloves minced
1 red onion chopped
1 large peach sliced
5-6 large tomatoes diced
1 sweet potato
1 hot pepper chopped
½ C goat stew meat, chopped and seasoned with salt, oil, and pepper
1 spoonful Green curry paste
¼ C Coconut milk
2 Tbsp Vegetable stock
½ C water

Sauté the chopped red onion in olive oil for a few minutes before adding the garlic and hot pepper. After a few minutes, push the veggies to the side, add more oil, and sear the goat meat. I only sear the meat for about 30 seconds on each side, just so it gets browned. Add the tomatoes and peaches. Add a spoonful of the curry paste. Pour in the coconut milk, vegetable stock and water. Add the sweet potato and stir well, making sure the curry paste is broken up and evenly distributed. If you want a stronger curry flavor, add more paste, I kept it pretty light. Turn the heat down to medium-low and let the stew simmer for 30 minutes or so. I let the curry simmer while I did the final preparations of the naan so everything came out ready at the same time.

Garnish the curry with fresh basil, and I like my naan drizzled with olive oil and sprinkle of good sea salt.

