Chocolate Beet Cake

by sageandhoney

I made this chocolate beet cake in honor of the creative and beautiful energy of the video from Tiger in a Jar. I’ve watched their video so many times, mesmerized by it’s beauty and simplicity, that I’ve pretty much memorized the recipe by now. My roommate and I were talking about why a video like this is so inspiring when it is so simple—it just shows ingredients and the process of making a cake. But we figured it was the old time feel, the comfort and beauty and simplicity, the celebration of food, and the lovely use of beets.

 The cake itself is incredibly photogenic, and more importantly, delicious. The beets add moisture and a rich sweetness, one that lingers on your tongue instead of the sharp, quick sweetness you get from refined sugar. Using good, dark chocolate is absolutely essential as this adds the best flavor and pairs perfectly with the beets. I followed the measurements for the recipe, but changed a few of the ingredients like usual. Instead of using white sugar, I used coconut palm sugar. Instead of white flour, 100% whole wheat (I really like the density and chewiness of whole wheat). I used Green&Black’s 72% baking chocolate, which turned out to be just perfect. Also I use vanilla powder instead of the liquid, I like the flavor of the powder more.

A few notes: when I melt chocolate I always do it in a glass bowl over a simmering pot of water, never in the microwave. When most of the chocolate looks melted, I take it off the heat and stir until the rest melts. I boiled the peeled beets in water for about 45 minutes, until they were soft and easy to cut with a fork. Then I pureed the beets in the vitamix with a little beet water (we saved the rest of the beet water for future clothes dying projects). Finally, make sure you let hot ingredients (the melted chocolate and pureed beets) cool some before you add it into the rest of the mix, this way you don’t cook the eggs. I garnished the cake with figs, raspberries and baby beet green leaves because of their beautiful color.

