Rooster Roast

by sageandhoney

Last night I roasted two roosters my mom brought me from the ranch. These little guys didn’t have much meat on them but they were incredibly delicious.

Pre-roasted with root vegetables

Fresh out of the oven

Crispy skinned, well-seasoned satisfaction

Rooster Roast
2 R0osters well seasoned with sea salt and lemon pepper
Fresh rosemary and sage
Purple and red potatoes
2 turnips
3 carrots
1 red onion
2 green onions
1 lemon
Olive oil
3 garlic cloves

Cranberry sauce
1 bag frozen cranberries
1 cup water
1 cup coconut palm sugar
Boil the water and sugar, add the cranberries and bring to a boil again. Let the mixture boil at lower heat for ten minutes and then cool in the fridge.

I seasoned the rooster with salt and pepper 2 days before cooking them. I heard this penetrates the skin and meat and lends to richer flavor. The oven was preheated to 400* the night of the roast. I chopped up all the vegetables (except for the green onion), tossed them in salt and olive oil and placed them in the baking pan. I set the roosters on top, stuffed the garlic under their skin, stuffed the cavities with rosemary and sage, and coated them in a drizzle of oil, then baked on one side for 20 minutes, flipped the birds over onto their other side for 20 minutes, and then flipped them again for the last 20 min. About 10 minutes before I took them out I added green onions and lemon slices to the pan. I let them rest for about 10 minutes before we ate them with good wine, salad, homemade cranberry sauce and bread.

