The Dutch Baby

by sageandhoney

Valentine’s Day inspired me to go outside my usual breakfast staples (2 fried eggs or a smoothie) and I finally made the beautiful, baked Dutch baby pancake. I love anything baked in a cast iron pan, I guess that’s probably apparent as more than half of my posts are dedicated to food oh so perfectly browned in the embracing richness of a well seasoned cast iron.

I can’t wait to  make these in the peak of summertime, piled high with sensually sweet strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries, oh and peaches, nectarines, and plums too.

Fresh out of the oven with steaming pockets, a rich buttery flavor and crispy crust

Kiwis, blood oranges, and bananas with maple syrup

Dutch Baby
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup whole milk
2 antelope valley ranch eggs (farm fresh is so much better!)
2 tablespoons coconut palm sugar
1 tsp powder vanilla (or 1/2 tsp vanilla extract)
3 tablespoons goat butter (any butter will do but goat is especially delicious of course)
Fresh, seasonal, chopped fruit
( I could also imagine adding pureed yam, pumpkin or other squash to these, and flax, oatmeal, maybe some other grains…next time)
Heat oven to 450, put the 3 tbsp butter in your cast iron, heat in the oven till it melts. Mix everything else together, pour it in the buttered cast iron. Bake for around 20 minutes at 450, and another eight or so minutes at 350 if it needs more time. Luxuriate in the rich intoxicating smell of freshly baked Dutch baby deliciousness, top with chopped fruit and maple syrup, enjoy!

