Jorge Enchiladas

by sageandhoney

Chard, cherry tomatoes, oyster mushrooms, onions, zucchini, olive oil, sea salt, lemon juice

Sauteing the fillings for the enchiladas

Beautiful chard from the co-op

Filling the sprouted corn tortillas with the vegetables and goat

The finished enchiladas, covered with gruyere and chedder and sauce

My camera failed to do justice to these enchiladas,  maybe it the was the lighting, or  maybe I was rushing the picture taking process in anticipation to eat these because they smelled so good. I just had little tidbits of goat leftover and decided to make enchiladas with them. These aren’t really traditional I guess but, like all the goat meals I’ve had, they were one of the better dishes I’ve eaten recently.

I started out browning  little cut chunks of goat in the cast iron then sauteed a bunch of vegetables I had in the goat juices: chard, oyster mushrooms, onions, zucchini, and tomatoes with salt, lemon juice and olive oil. I cooked them just until they were a little browned and softened so they wouldn’t turn to mush. Then I packed the fillings into the tortillas, covered them with that traditional Trader Joes salsa and gruyere and cheddar, and then baked them for oh around maybe 15 minutes at 425*. These are quite easy to make and such a rich and satisfying meal with none of the ingredients overwhelming your palate or stealing the show.

