Figs, Persimmons and Pumpkins

by sageandhoney

Every season is marked by some key foods for me. I hand over half of my food money per month on fruit that only appears once a year. If only there were fig and persimmon trees in my neighborhood… Firm fuyu persimmons and the green figs with the deep red inside are the most delightful sensations of my fall. Also I’ve been roasting a lot of pumpkins and have learned that pumpkin goes in everything. I mean everything, lentil soups, spoon bread, cookies, muffins, loafs, and anywhere else my imagination takes me. I told my friend recently that I’ve had too much serious writing business on this forum and it’s time to focus on what’s important: food.

Morning happiness. Thanks to my beloved vita mix. I don't know what I would do without it.

Dear cast iron skillet, you are irreplaceable. All I need is some garlic, mushrooms, kale, olive oil, lemon juice and salt. Sauteed a little on the stove top then baked in the oven. So delightful.

This salad is the epitome of salads. Arugula and spring greens from work, figs, persimmons, currants, avocado, raw sheep cheese, bariani olive oil, and vincent de arroyo balsalmic. Perfection.

Sweet potato, pumpkin, goat cheese spoon bread

Roasted pumpkin, fresh cranberry, and currant loaf

Some of the other things I made: oatmeal, dark chocolate chip, coconut cookies; pumpkin, cornmeal, spelt, sunflower seed muffins

I haven’t been making anything too complicated for myself to eat lately. Some great soups, salads and vegetables in the skillet are the regular. I really haven’t  had time for too many projects but I’ve been completely delighted eating simple foods.

I have to start preparing some camping foods and get ready to be a Tortuga this weekend with some of my favorite people.

