The Universe

by sageandhoney

I love when you go back through your notes and favorite pictures and quotes and you stumble upon something that offers an answer to pertinent questions and problems in your life. That something that I stumbled on today was Wendell Berry’s The Peace of Wild Things poem. He says when his despair for the world grows in him he finds freedom and peace in wild things.

I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief.

My despair for the world has been growing in me lately. Ever since I watched live footage of oil spilling into the gulf at that incredible rate I have felt unsettled and a little self-loathing. I feel like this huge disaster should prompt more of a response. I mean shouldn’t we all stop driving or start a riot or something? My response to this has been to watch mind boggling, life changing, perspective enhancing videos about the universe.

My mind feels like its swelling and shrinking at the same time, you know? The unknowable, unimaginable SIZE of it all makes my constricted brain ache. Come on, trip out with me.

