Silent Spring

by sageandhoney

I am reading Silent Spring by Rachel Carson for my English class. There are so many important books that I feel like I  know so much about before I read but I was surprised by how relevant everything in this book still is. This paragraph really put into perspective the absurdity and irony of pesticide use on our food:

The origin of these insecticides has a certain ironic significance. Although some of the chemicals themselves-organic esters of phosphoric acid-had been known for many years, their insecticidal properties remained to be discovered by a German chemist, Gerhard Schrader, in the late 1930’s. Almost immediately the German government recognized the value of these same chemicals as new and devastating weapons in man’s war against his own kind, and the workon them was declared secret. Some became the deadly nerve gases. Others, of closely allied structure, became insecticides.

