Compost overload…

by sageandhoney

Craig could and should fill text books with his knowledge of composting. I gulped down the information while he was there and after he left I have to say I did not feel inspired to take on the University composting initiative. Luckily after talking with my classmates we discussed different possibilities such as working with Craig, maybe setting up another composting site run by him in Reno, which would be great for multiple businesses. The decision making is still in the works. I’ve gathered the necessity for creating realistic goals for when you take on a project. Initially I thought we would be responsible for gathering, turning, watering, selling and whatever other steps were required for this composting project. Now I see we must find a way to set up a sustainable composting method for the school that survives when we leave. Craig and his crew work many hours in the day and have years, decades, of experience.  Also they create a quality product, one that keeps the business in demand. For me the ideal solution would be to make most of our pre and post consumer food composted by Craig immediately. That way the university can take a step in the right direction in their sustainable goals without waiting any longer. But it would be great if we could still have a learning experience and use about 1/5 of the residuals for our own composting/selling/planting food efforts. As of now we are working on sorting out the pieces of the puzzle for our project. How much equipment do we have access to? What are the realms of the feasibility of this project? What kinds of liability are we facing? Who are we going to get our federal grants from? How do we judge our success? Of course this all entails creating a goal, which we did! Our goal is: contributing to UNR sustainability with a business that is economically sustainable over time.

Of course creating an environmentally friendly economically sustaining business is not only a goal for me in this project. I will put a ton of effort towards attaining our class goal, but my passion still lies with the cafe vision. For me the composting is something the school needs to be pushing for, it is a great learning experience for me and my classmates, and hopefully future students. But the cafe is a tangible and rewarding experience concerning sustainability. If it existed on campus people would be offerred the choice every day to support locality. I am still so excited about the prospect of the vision for the cafe existing that I cannot put it aside. Lately my busy schedule with skiing has inhibited the amount of time I have been able to put forth for the cafe, but I cannot wait to get back to work.

Speaking of work I am slacking slightly in school and my own composting efforts, so for today pictures and recipes!

Saute half a red onion with garlic in olive oil, add sliced crimini mushrooms. Cook until mushrooms loose some moisture. Add half of a chopped red bell pepper and a few cups worth of two different types of kale and chard. Cook all of these veggies together, then mix up two eggs with a little milk and pour it in with the veggies. Stir with your spatula for a few minutes, top with mozzarella, sundried tomatoes and a few pieces of proscuitto, broil on high for 2-4 minutes, and voila! A delicious nutritious fritatta.

I hope this looks as appetizing as it was. It was incredibly delicious. Here is what I did to create this masterpiece: Saute half a red onion with garlic in olive oil, add sliced crimini mushrooms. Cook until mushrooms lose some moisture. Add half of a chopped red bell pepper and a few cups worth of two different types of kale and chard. Cook all of these veggies together, then mix up two eggs with a little milk and pour it in with the veggies. Stir with your spatula for a few minutes, top with mozzarella, sundried tomatoes and a few pieces of proscuitto, broil on high for 2-4 minutes, and voila! A delicious nutritious fritatta.

Couldn't wait to take the picture until after we had dug in...

Couldn't wait to take the picture until after we had dug in...

One of my more cherished photos from doing cafe soup feeds!

One of my more cherished photos from doing cafe soup feeds!

I almost didn't share THE muffin recipe, but I won't guard their deliciousness, hope this recipe isn't too secret Mom....2.5 cups oat bran, 1 cup milk (orange juice or soy work), 2 eggs, 1 tablespoon baking powder, 1/4 cup of something sweet (brown sugar, maple syrup, sugar, honey, etc), 1/4 cup olive oil (other oils work also), and then the rest is optional...I usually add half a cup of ground flax, a few spoonfuls of almond butter, sliced almonds, dark chocolate chunks, raisins, and bananas. These are so versatile you can litterally add whatever fruit or veggie you want. They are incredibly healthy and tasty.

I almost didn't share THE muffin recipe, but I won't guard their deliciousness, hope this recipe isn't too secret Mom....oven 425 for 19 min. 2.5 cups oat bran, 1 cup milk (orange juice or soy work), 2 eggs, 1 tablespoon baking powder, 1/4 cup of something sweet (brown sugar, maple syrup, sugar, honey, etc), 1/4 cup olive oil (other oils work also), and then the rest is optional...I usually add half a cup of ground flax, a few spoonfuls of almond butter, sliced almonds, dark chocolate chunks, raisins, and bananas. These are so versatile you can litterally add whatever fruit or veggie you want. They are incredibly healthy and tasty.

Seriously good

Seriously good

 

