Concerning different realms of sustainability and food

by sageandhoney

Last semester I worked closely with a group of students with the intent to create a cafe on campus serving local, seasonal and high quality foods. This is still my dream for UNR. I intend to continue to work for this goal, but I have come to recognize that there are so many other important efforts that are absolutely essential for our campus.

As an environmental studies major I am in my second major class, UNAE 310. Our purpose in this class is to devise a composting system for the entire Downunder cafe, where inordinate amounts of pre and post consumer waste is created. I am currently attempting to compost my waste at home, but my knowledge of composting basically extends to a remembered vision of the compost my family had when I lived in Maine, when I was seven years old. I remember rainy days when we would fight about who would take the compost out, and worrying about my mom being struck by lightening when she was emptying the bucket. At our home there we had a large compost bin, out of it grew huge stalky and colorful plants, and the animals used to sleep on our decomposing waste. That image may not sound entirely enticing, but I do remember it with vague fondness. Of course we used this compost for our small garden at our permanent home, but at our tiny cottage by the lake we simply threw our compostable waste in the forest…

I will attempt to document my learning of at home and large scale composting here. For class our required readings are: 
Hawken’s Natural Capitalism, Berry’s Gift of Good Land, and Rodale Book of Composting.

If there is such thing as a master composter I better be one after the amount of research I am about to put into this…
My at home materials presently at hand:

Compost Keeper

Compost Keeper

Compost

Compost

Leaves, dirt, twigs, etc...

Leaves, dirt, twigs, etc...

A yard full of grass as imposed by my landlord

Grass clippings: A yard full of grass as imposed by my landlord

More grass; note the clothesline

More grass; note the clothesline

Even more grass for clippings

Even more grass for clippings

 

 


