Skillet Fried Pumpkin Gnocchi

by sageandhoney

I found a picture of pumpkin gnocchi on Pinterest, my new favorite website, and following the link led me to Steamy Kitchen, and a beautiful and delicious recipe for the gnocchi. I mostly followed the recipe on the site, but of course altered a few key things here and there. I don’t like using canned pumpkin, especially this time of year when sweet sugar pie pumpkins are so available. I just halve the pumpkins, place them flesh side down in an inch of water, and roast them for about an hour or so at 375. When they are softened I scoop the seeds out and roast them with a little salt, pepper, olive oil and lemon juice, and I scrape the flesh out and let it cool all the way before I make anything with it. I also always use whole wheat flour, or some other whole grain flour. Make sure you use a whole milk ricotta as well, it just tastes so much richer and more delicious than skimmed ricotta. I also used a lot more sage than the recipe called for. I fried it in butter with a little sea salt and we ate it with the gnocchi, fried sage is one of my favorite foods and really makes the meal so don’t skimp. Check out the recipe for Pan-Fried Pumpkin Gnocchi with Brown Butter Sage.

